1. Food
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Passover Seder

Gluten-Free Seder Menu & Recipes

By

Passover Seder Table with Kiddish Cup

Passover Seder Table with Kiddish Cup

Giora Shimoni
The Torah commands Jews not to eat or possess chametz during the week of Passover. Chametz is any of the five grains -- wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye -- which has come into contact with water for more than 18 minutes.

Gluten is the protein present in wheat, rye, barley and oats. Gluten is harmful to persons with celiac disease. Thus, celiacs seek gluten-free food.

Many - but not all - kosher for Passover products are gluten-free. Likewise, many - but not all - Passover recipes are gluten-free.

This Passover Seder menu, designed for those with celiac disease, includes gluten-free ingredients and recipes.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.