1. Food

Discuss in my forum

What's the difference between kosher wine and kosher for Passover wine?

By

Kosher for Passover Wine

Kosher for Passover Wine

Giora Shimoni
Question: What's the difference between kosher wine and kosher for Passover wine?
Answer: In order for a wine to be kosher, it must be created under a rabbi's immediate supervision, with only Sabbath-observant Jewish males touching the grapes from the crushing phase through the bottling.

While all wines require some sort of mold (yeast) for fermentation, kosher for Passover wine must be made from a mold that has not been grown on bread (such as sugar or fruit) and must exclude several common preservatives, like potassium sorbate.

All Israeli wines are Kosher for Passover and most (but not all) kosher wines are kosher for Passover. To be sure, check the label for the P.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.